Illustration Friday: Rain

June 24, 2006 at 10:07 PM (Art)

Illustration Friday

Didn’t take part in Illustration Friday last week (the theme was "Dance"), but as I posted the Hellboy and Manson drawings, I thought I made up for that!  Anyway this time the topic is "Rain", and this is the picture I came up with:

Rain by Karthik Abhiram

Once again, the picture turned out quite different from the idea I initially had in mind.  When I saw the topic "Rain", I immediately thought of action scenes in movies, taking place in heavy rain.  I would have to have a light source to add interest, so I thought of having two people in the drawing against a car, with the headlight on.

I decided to do this one also in watercolour, like my last Illustration Friday drawing.  I’m not too good at using watercolour as a medium so the final image doesn’t look the way I wanted it to.  Here I have one character standing in front of his car (yes, that is supposed to be the headlight of a car), on a rainy night.  There’s lightning to the left side as well, showing just how unfriendly the weather is.

As far as the quality of the picture is concerned, I think this is just an "okay" effort.  Anyway, do comment and let me know what you think.

8 Comments

  1. claudine hellmuth said,

    I think this is great! I could tell it was a car headlight before even reading your description. I think the piece conveys a rainy night just like you intended 🙂

  2. Jana Bouc said,

    Wow! This really works for me, not just a dark rainy night, bad weather, etc. but a sense of foreboding as well. The light coming at the viewer and the character seems to imply danger and is a little disorienting. Even if the watercolor didn’t do what you wanted or expected, what it did do is really works…great illo!

  3. constance said,

    I find this quite captivating and I agree with Jana Bouc’s ‘reading’ of your painting.

  4. Ismaele said,

    Good job! 🙂

  5. Catraven said,

    I would say you deserve an A+ for effort and final result! Is that the NYC skyline or one in your country? Really beautiful watercolor!

  6. Tobias said,

    I wouldn’t call it “okay”, Karthik. To me, this is very impressive work. Plus, we had exactly that kind of weather last night, so I can really relate to it. 😉

  7. ARVINDH said,

    this is just fantastic work!

  8. Pablo said,

    it looks like if somebody is looking through a window into the street and its all blurry and stuff. nice atmosphere, but i think sicky alien goo and surreal forest are better. not saying it sucks tho’. but i dont like it as much as the other two 🙂

Leave a Reply

