Drawing: This is the New Shit

June 18, 2006 at 7:22 PM (Art)

I recently attended a two-day workshop on Negotiation Skills at office.  Now it has been a while since I’ve been in a classroom environment, but this gave me the chance to do some serious doodling in my notebook.

I did two pictures during the course of the two days, below is one of them (click for a larger image):

I had been listening to the song "This is the New Shit" by Marilyn Manson the day before, and that is what inspired this drawing.  Done in black gel ink pen on notebook paper (I erased the lines as much as I could), with the "background" (consisting of a scribbled version of the lyrics to the song) in blue ballpoint pen.

The other drawing is one of Mike Mignola’s Hellboy.  This one turned out much better than just a simple doodle, so I am doing some post-processing in Photoshop and adding colour.  Will post that later tonight.

And to those of you who are thinking otherwise, I did participate well in the workshop and found it to be a good one (the faculty, Mr. Chendil Kumar was excellent).  Drawing during training sessions (or classes) does not mean that I am not paying attention!

Leave a Reply

