Illustration Friday: (Surreal) Jungle

June 11, 2006 at 7:43 PM (Art)

Illustration Friday

Last week the Internet connection was misbehaving a bit, and I was also pretty busy with work, so I didn’t do an illustration for Illustration Friday.  Last week’s theme was Portrait, by the way.

This time, the theme was Jungle.  The first thing that came to mind was the movie Predator, as it is set in the Latin American jungles.  But I didn’t draw anything based on that, this picture is what I came up with (click for larger image):

Jungle by Karthik Abhiram

This is a picture of a clearing in a jungle.  It’s very warm and the powerful sunlight cuts through the trees like a knife.  Originally, this was supposed to be some sort of alien landscape, that’s why the leaves of the trees are blue.  Instead of leaves, the trees were supposed to have gaseous red/blue emissions at the top.  It didn’t turn out that way, so what you have now is a more or less normal (earthly) picture.

Still, I like the way the trees seem impossibly tall and the sun seems impossibly large.  If I were to draw a person in the middle of all this, he/she would be the size of one of the letters in the text (at the bottom of the picture).

This picture was done with watercolours on drawing paper.  I bought a drawing book some days back.  The images come out much better on this paper, which is thicker and nicer compared to the standard A4 printer/photocopy paper I was using earlier.  I’m not at all used to watercolours (this is probably the second picture I’m painting with them), but I’m happy with the result.

As usual, comments welcome…

6 Comments

  1. constance said,

    This is beautiful!

  2. Jana Bouc said,

    Lovely. I’ve been in the rainforest in Costa Rica and it’s very much like that.

  3. Karthik Abhiram said,

    Thanks for the comments!

  4. Ismaele said,

    I like that drawing… it looks like a painting… and it is very beautiful! 🙂

  5. pablo said,

    awesome painting man, i cant do anything with watercolors that comes close to this. damn your skills 🙂

  6. arvindh said,

    i love the hazy effect you have created – excellent!!

  7. Tobias said,

    Wow, Karthik, this is impressive. I didn’t know you were drawing with watercolors. The image has a great feeling to it for sure! Very well done!

Leave a Reply

