Illustration Friday: Cake World

May 28, 2006 at 7:02 PM (Art)

Illustration Friday

This week’s theme at Illustration Friday is Cake.  Yesterday, I thought of drawing something out of a slapstick comedy scene — maybe someone who was pushed into a large cake while onlookers were staring in shock.  Anyway, when I sat down to draw something this morning, I ended up with something totally different, and weird (click for larger image):

This image shows someone reminiscing of a restaurant where the most delicious cakes were served many years ago.  And like in the old photograph, nothing really has changed (don’t ask me where I came up with this, even I don’t know).  The cake in the picture by the way, is inspired by the "lemon cheesecake" which you get at Odyssey in Chennai.

The drawing was done in pencil.  I tried to colour this but wasn’t able to come up with anything that looked good.  In the end I decided to leave it black and white (just gave it a bit of sepia-ish tint on the computer).  Comments welcome!

On an unrelated note, I watched Pudhupettai (Survival of the Fittest) in the theatre today.  I liked the first half but the film became draggy and unfocused in the second half.

6 Comments

  1. brandelion said,

    the sepia tinting gave it something special – i like the end product. 🙂

  2. Ismaele said,

    I like it too! 🙂 It is funny somehow. 😉

  3. arvindh said,

    good one!

  4. Marie-Dom said,

    Very interesting and nostalgic type of picture. has a kind of detective agency feel to it from the old 30’s films, if you know what I mean. I like this very much. I like the energetic line work too.
    MD

  5. Pablo said,

    I am liking this very much too. Great shade and detail.

  6. JV said,

    Great.

Leave a Reply

