Illustration Friday: Angela vs. Diablo

May 14, 2006 at 1:46 AM (Art)

Illustration Friday

Like I mentioned in the previous post, the theme announced at IllustrationFriday.com this week is Angels and Devils.  Interesting topic, so I decided to try my hand at it.  I just completed this piece, titled Angela vs. Diablo (click the image for a larger version):

Angela vs Diablo by Karthik Abhiram

As you can see, this is a faux movie poster done comic-book style!  I drew this in pencil, then scanned it and coloured it on the computer, and added the text.  The fonts used are "Cocaine Sans" by Chris Hansen and "Typewriter – a602" by Mr. Fisk.  I started drawing at around 8:30 PM, and finished the whole thing about half an hour ago (of course, I went out for dinner in between it all).

I think it came out pretty well — I am getting better at anatomy (though there is still a LOT of improvement possible!), and I am happy with the concept of the picture.  Inspirations include the character Gabriel from Constantine, John Woo movies, Mike Mignola’s Hellboy and Mr. and Mrs. Smith.  And if you’re wondering how Angela can put on her suit with her wings, I’ve got an explanation: her wings are magical, so they wouldn’t create a problem.

So what do you think of the picture?  Like it/don’t like it?  Wouldn’t it be cool to see an actual movie like this?  As usual, comments are welcome…

10 Comments

  1. Ismaele said,

    Nice drawing…! πŸ™‚ I like it very much: I like the colours! πŸ˜‰

  2. carra said,

    I really like the movie poster idea. I would pay for the ticket and the pop corn to see this fight, although I’m not quite sure for whom I would keep my fingers crossed πŸ™‚

  3. Kaya said,

    Great idea, love the comic book/movie poster style! And of course the angel has to be a kick-ass girl!

  4. Liberty said,

    I like how they go together, I like how you made like a movie poster!

  5. Srikanth said,

    Good art work!! Dude, I thought you should be at work all the time!! what on earth are you doing here ????? :p… Great piece of work, bringing out imagination into virtual reality!! Keep up the good work buddy!!.

  6. IdiotHead said,

    Great idea. I like the use of different words for angels and devils. I think the best thing about IF is having a forum for improving techniques and styles. Now, I must call for movie times.
    8^)

  7. Varun said,

    Very nice… the strong colours really make this stand out! Love the shading on Diablo.

  8. Karthik Abhiram said,

    Thanks everyone for the comments… Wish I could see the other Illustration Friday artwork though — I can’t do that because my ISP seems to have blocked Blogger sites!

  9. Pablo said,

    awesome! πŸ™‚

  10. hazel8500 said,

    I love the attitude in Angela’s face. Very nice poster. Good job!

Leave a Reply

